Skip to content

Sashay, Marché.

March 10, 2010

I discovered the tasty joy of Marché when HotPants first took me there a couple of years ago. He’d eaten lunch there several times while here for work, and he knew (duh!) I’d dig it. We’ve taken friends and family there (read: our families have taken us there!) when they’ve been in town, and it’s one of our favorite treats when we go out for brunch or lunch. We’ve been there for dinner once, a few months ago. Tasty Town.

Today, we enjoyed a lunch date at Marché before we ran errands. I know, I know. We party hard. I’ll tell you about our meals in just a minute. First, a little about Marché Artisan Foods.

Owned by Margot McCormack and Jay Frein, Marché is a european-style cafe and marketplace (just ask my mom, she’s found many treasures!) in East Nashville. You can buy milk from local dairy farms, gourmet cheeses, artisan breads, flower waters for cooking/baking, and many, many more fun food items. And you can overcaffeinate on Drew’s Brews coffee (which Pop digs!). Now we’re talkin’.

This is the sister restaurant to Margot Cafe and Bar, which is about a block from Marché. I know there are many (many!) fantastic restaurants in Nashville, but I’m putting in my vote for Marché and Margot as two of the best.

Reuben Sandwich

Today, HotPants ordered the reuben sandwich: corned beef, sauerkraut, spicy Russian dressing, and gruyere cheese on Jewish rye. Today’s side was a warm jardinière. The jardinière included carrots, cauliflower, and cabbage (we think). Man, what a great sandwich! I don’t think he breathed much while he inhaled it. I’m not a huge fan of pickled items (though I love dill pickles), but I think the jardinière was tasty. HotPants really liked it.

Roasted Broccoli and Mozzarella Omelet

I ordered the omelet du jour: roasted broccoli, mozzarella, and assorted fresh herbs, with a side of the green salad. I’m fairly sure I ate in fast forward. I didn’t finish it all, so we took the rest home. I don’t recommend leaving an omelet in your car while you run errands; your car will smell sassy.

At Marché, you can easily gorge yourself into snapping buttons off your pants. No shame in that. Once you’re home in your sweatpants, enjoy the dessert you took home. Your facehole will thank you.

No comments yet

Leave a comment